Staff Infections – May 2020

Hello, dear readers. I’ve been writing this Staff Infections feature for years now, and in addition to the main purpose of this feature, which is to share what the Last Rites staff has been listening to, I often like to at least mention a little bit about what is going on in the world, even if it’s just bitching about the weather. Although sometimes it has been hard not to, I’ve don’t think I’ve ever really made any grand political statements here on my little platform. The biggest reason I haven’t done so is that I presume you, gentle readers, all come here to Last Rites for metal, not politics. I have also refrained from making political statements, because I did not want to say something that misrepresented the opinions of the other staff members. However, I feel confident in speaking for the entire Last Rites staff when I say black lives matter. We hope that you all agree with that statement.

Now, to the playlists and the big winners therein. The most listened-to album this month is Æequiizoiikum, the forthcoming sophomore album from German black / death trio Khthoniiks Cerviiks. Æequiizoiikum isn’t out until July 17th, but we should have a review in the near future. Second place is a tie between two bands that would seem to be, based on description alone, at opposite ends of the metal spectrum: Lör, a self-described progressive / folk / power metal band, with its recently released EP Edge of Eternity, and Defeated Sanity, one of the most brutal tech-death bands in the game, with it’s soon-to-be-released album The Sanguinary Impetus. Now, Lör—with its prominent keyboards and melodic clean vocals—would never be confused for a brutal death metal band, but Edge of Eternity has some surprisingly technical and ferocious riffing that puts Lör closer to Defeated Sanity than you’d expect.

That’ll do it for this month, friends. Be sure to listen to our staff-curated Spotify playlist, and share your own playlist in the comments. Until next month, be safe, be kind and do a lot of listening.



  • Danhammer Obstkrieg
    Defeated Sanity – The Sanguinary Impetus
    Khthoniik Cerviiks – Æequiizoiikum
    Moby – All Visible Objects
    The Soft Pink Truth – Shall We Go On Sinning So That Grace May Increase?
    Dauþuz – Grubenfall 1727
    Voigt & Voigt – Mülheim Deluxe 1
  • Andrew Edmunds
    Paradise Lost – Obsidian
    Meth Leppard – Woke
    Chepang – Dadhelo: A Tale Of Wildfire
    Unholy Grave – a whole lotta split 7s
    Ripcord – More Songs About…
    Dropdead – the first LP
  • Zach Duvall
    Lör – Edge of Eternity
    Anathema – Weather Systems
    Voivod – Nothingface
    Kraftwerk – The Man-Machine
    Nine Inch Nails – Pretty Hate Machine
  • Lone Watie
    Defeated Sanity – The Sanguinary Impetus
    Khthoniiks Cerviiks – Æequiizoiikum
    Lör – Edge of Eternity
    Rider Negro – The Echo of the Desert
    Virgin Steele – The Marriage of Heaven and Hell, Parts 1 & 2, and Invictus
    Jonah Mutono – GERG
  • Ryan Tysinger
    Tormentor – Anno Domini
    Grausamkeit- Satan’s Addicktion & Pure Madness
    Poccolus – Poccolus
    Khthoniik Cerviiks – Æequiizoiikum
    Vlad Tepes / Belkètre – March to the Black Holocaust
    Ungod – Circle of the Seven Infernal Pacts
  • Fetusghost
    Rwake – Rest
    Elder – Gold & Silver Sessions
    Tristwood – Blackcrown Majesty
    Whores – Gold
    Monstrosity – The Passage of Existence
    The Alex Jones Prison Planet – Corrupt Them All
  • Manny-O-War
    Jackie McLean – Let Freedom Ring
    Enslaved – Vertebrae
    Acerus – The Tertiary Rite
    Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit – Reunions
    Ulthar – Providence
    Darkthrone – Panzerfaust
  • Dave Pirtle
    Alestorm – Curse of the Crystal Coconut
    Medication – Prince Valium
    Steve Earle and the Dukes – Ghosts of West Virginia
    Centinex – Death in Pieces
    ACxDC – Satan Is King
  • Megan Astrael
    Ulcerate – Stare Into Death And Be Still
    Valborg – Nekrodepression
    Altar of Plagues – Teethed Glory & Injury
    Vader – Liturgy
    Pat Metheny – Imaginary Day
    SW./SVN – (untitled albums)
  • Jeremy Morse
    Xibalba – Años Del Infierno
    W.A.S.P. – The Crimson Idol
    Disgorge – Consume the Forsaken
    Accept – Balls to the Wall
    AC/DC – Powerage
    Slayer – Reign in Blood

Posted by Jeremy Morse

Riffs or GTFO.

  1. Entombed – “Left Hand Path”
    His Name Is Alive – “Mouth By Mouth”
    Mazzy Star – “She Hangs Brightly”
    Iron Maiden – “Brave New World”
    Oranssi Pazuzu – “Mestarin kynsi”
    Paradise Lost – “Gothic”


  2. Iggy & The Stooges – Raw Power
    Paradise Lost – Obsidian
    Mayhem – Grand Declaration of War
    Talking Heads – Remain in Light
    Old Man Gloom – Seminar VIII: Light of Meaning
    John Coltrane – A Love Supreme


  3. Vassafor – To the Death
    Temple Nightside – Pillars of Damnation
    Suede – Dog Man Star
    Gary Numan – Telekon
    The Soft Pink Truth – Am I Free To Go? (Hi Dan!!)
    Mayhem – Out from the Dark


  4. Holy Terror – Mind Wars
    Pestilence – Spheres
    Testament – Titans of Creation
    Cirith Ungol – Everything
    Blind Fury (i.e.Satan) – Out of Reach


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.